PO Box 37586, Doha, State of Qatar

Property Ownership

Property Ownership

Qatar’s real estate industry has witnessed intense growth in recent years and a massive infrastructure programme has produced a transport system second to none. A number of world class master developments are being constructed including The Pearl, Lusail City, Msheireb, West Bay Lagoon and Al Waab City, to name a few.

Qatar’s Council of Ministers recently increased the number of areas available for expatriate property investment.

Law No. 16 of 2018 provides that expatriates in Qatar can now freely own property in 10 locations, with 16 other areas offering ownership of a term of 99 years.

Expatriates may now invest in offices, shops, villas, residential units and development land in the specified areas.

The purchase of a property with a minimum floor area of 75 m2 may lead to buyers being granted five year residency visas, which are renewable.

Owners of real estate valued at a minimum of $200,000 will be issued permanent residency cards for as long as they own the property.

Certain conditions to be determined by the Council of Ministers will apply.

Freehold Areas Leasehold Areas
West Bay (Area 66) Msheireb (Area 13)
The Pearl-Qatar (66) Fereej Abdelaziz (14)
Al Khor Resort (74) Doha Al Jadeed (15)
Rawdat Al Jahaniyah (Investment area) New Al Ghanim (16)
Al Qassar (Administrative area 60) Al Refaa and Old Al Hitmi (17)
Al Dafna (Administrative area 61) Aslata (18)
Onaiza (Administrative area 63) Fereej Bin Mahmoud (22)
Al Wasail (69) Fereej Bin Mahmoud (23)
Al Khraij (69) Rawdat Al Khail (24)
Jabal Theyleeb (69). Mansoura and Fereej Bin Dirham (25)
Najma (26)
Umm Ghuwailina (27)
Al Khulaifat (28)
Al Sadd (38)
Al Mirqab Al Jadeed and Fereej Al Nasr (39)
Doha International Airport area (48).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!